Step Heaven

See the source image

Step Heaven is a step aerobics workout led by trainer Christi Taylor, and is one of four workouts on her Fantastic Four collection, which contains two DVDs with four total workouts: two floor aerobics/hi-lo workouts on one disc (Hi-Lo Heaven and Still Jumpin’) and two step aerobics workouts on the other disc (Step Heaven and Still Steppin’). Step Heaven was originally released on VHS in 2000.

After loving Totally Hot Cardio and Totally Cool Step, I began compulsively hoarding Christi’s other workouts. This was the second Christi step workout I tried, and I’ll never forget my first experience with it. I tried it because many Christi fans say that it’s their favorite of her step workouts. On the first try (sometime in 2017), I had a mixed opinion of it. I liked the first section but HATED the second section. It confused me right from the get go, and about 4 or 5 minutes into the second section I took the DVD out of the player and put it back in the case. At the time Step Heaven gave me PTSD, and I swore on my life that I would never touch another Christi step workout ever again (except for Totally Cool Step). Of course, I decided to try the other Christi step workouts I hoarded, and fell in love with all of them. Then, a year later, I gave Step Heaven a second try including the second section. I caught onto most of Stage 2 without a problem. Then, a few months later after trying other complex step workouts (Franny Benedetto, Seasun Zieger, etc.), I had no issue with the second section. The third time was definitely the charm, and Step Heaven went on to become my favorite step workout of Christi’s (and one of my all-time favorite step workouts).

What makes this my favorite Christi step workout? First off, the choreography is fun and flows very well (once you get it). Christi’s choreography is always smooth but IMHO Step Heaven contains her best step choreography. The music is also excellent, and contains remixes of popular songs both with vocals and with instrumental. Some of the songs I recognized were “Larger Than Life,” “I Say a Little Prayer,” “Caribbean Queen,” “Superstition” (an instrumental version), “Hooked on a Feeling,” and even the warm-up music from one of The Firm’s BSS1 workouts (IIRC, the warm-up from Cardio Sculpt). Christi’s cueing is excellent.

Step Heaven is a long workout clocking in at around 80 minutes, and is divided into three sections (that Christi calls “stages”) plus a warm-up and cool-down. Stage 1 is approximately 25 minutes long and contains five moderately complex 32-count combinations (with the step in horizontal orientation). Each combo is taught in layers. Since there are five combos to go through in about 25 minutes, the layering comes at you quickly. Your only warning of a layer change is a “watch me” while Christi shows the change once while you stay with the group. Then on the second go-round Christi cues the change she made verbally and asks you to do it. Unlike her workouts from Still Jumpin’/Still Steppin’ onwards, this workout features no front row “flippers” and back row “modifiers.” HOWEVER, for Stage 1 the two women in the second row behind Christi will eliminate some of the more intricate turns and keep things lower impact (although, to my eyes they weren’t modifying much). The two women in the front (Julie and a woman I don’t remember the name of), and Theresa (in the back) do all of the more complex changes with Christi. At the end you run through all five combos twice in a finished product.

Stage 2 is approximately 25 minutes and contains two complex 64-count combinations with the step in the vertical orientation. As with Stage 1, all combos are taught in a rapid layering fashion. In fact, the layering comes even more quickly here–with the simpler steps repeated more and the more complex steps repeated less (giving you less chances to practice the latter–unless you rewind). Also, sometimes Christi will make multiple changes at once. This was the section that infuriated me on the first try. Before I go any further, I must preface by confessing that I have an overachieving ego that sometimes gets in the way of my workouts. On my first try with Step Heaven, I was catching on to most of Stage 1 and thought I would get more of the choreography in Stage 2. I was wrong. Right from the get-go I was stumbling and about five minutes in I decided to call it quits and took the DVD out of my player in frustration. Times, of course, have changed. Now I’m a choreography hound who can pick up most (not all) things after seeing them only once or twice. I did much better on my second attempt of Stage 2, and by my third time I caught onto everything with some stumbling towards the end. Coming back to this workout a few days ago, I had no trouble with the first combo, and only stumbled a few times during the second combo (although I did catch onto everything, my brain and body weren’t matching the moves up together–if that makes sense). Besides the rapid layering, the main reason that this section is the most difficult to learn of Christi’s is that there are no modifiers. Everyone is doing all the flips and spins. If you are used to following the modifiers in Christi’s later workouts (and are expecting them here), you are pretty much $hit out of luck. So this is not the Christi step workout to start out with. Once both combos are taught, you only get one run through at the end. It disappoints me a little bit, since the combos are complex and I want another run through to polish things up! Oh well. For those who struggle with Stage 2, don’t get discouraged. Keep practicing, as this section is worth learning it in the long run. Some of Christi’s best choreography occurs in this stage.

Stage 3 is approximately 19 minutes and is a cardio + strength circuit workout. Similarly to Stage 1, there are five moderately complex combinations; however, the choreography in this stage is actually easier than Stage 1. Christi builds a fairly short but intense combination, runs through it a few times, then puts you into a holding pattern (i.e. knees corner to corner, repeaters, etc.). You are then given the option to stay with the holding pattern (following Theresa and the back row), or pick up weights for a compound strength interval (following Christi, Julie, and another woman whose name I can’t remember). Christi and the two front row crew members appear to use light weights (maybe 5 lb. dumbbells), and in the introduction recommends anywhere from 3-10 lb. dumbbells. Although Christi hits all the major muscle groups, this is not enough to count as strength work (at least for my purposes). But as a 4-limb cardio interval, it works fine. Also to note, you do not put any of the five combos together. Once one combo is done, you throw it away (and never see it again). I have to admit, though, that I never do Stage 3. I prefer to do the warm-up, Stages 1 and 2, then chapter over to the cool-down and stretch for a fun roughly hour-long step aerobics workout.

Just like Still Jumpin’ and Still Steppin’, at the beginning of Stage 2 and Stage 3 a picture-in-preview (PIP) appears in the lower left hand corner of the screen giving you a brief cool-down and stretch. Christi did this so VHS users didn’t have to constantly fast forward the tape to the cool-down each time you wanted to do a shorter workout. But on DVD, you can easily chapter to the cool-down and stretch (which is fun, BTW). Also, like the other two workouts I mentioned, Christi invited several VFers (Video Fitness Forum members) to watch the taping of this workout. They are shown briefly during the introduction.

As I mentioned above, Step Heaven is probably my favorite Christi step workout. Besides the fun choreography, great music, and Christi’s personality, you have several workout options–do one, two, or all three stages in any combination (plus the warm-up and cool-down, of course). I don’t recommend this one to Christi newcomers due to the lack of modifiers. And don’t get discouraged, especially with Stage 2. Once you learn it, the choreography is an absolute blast!

Step Heaven is approximately 81 minutes and requires a step. Christi and crew use the Club Step set at 6-inches (one riser under each side).

Workout Breakdown

Warm-Up (approx. 6 minutes)

Stage 1 (approx. 25 minutes; five 32-count combos of moderate complexity finishing with two runthoughs of all five combos strung together. The step is in the horizontal orientation for this section.)

Stage 2 (approx. 25 minutes; two complex 64-count combos finishing with one runthrough of both combos strung together. The step is in the vertical orientation for this section.)

Stage 3 (approx. 19 minutes; contains five 32-count combinations alternated with four compound strength intervals using 3-10 lb. dumbbells. The step is in the horizontal orientation for this section.)

Cool-Down and Stretch (approx. 6 minutes)

2 thoughts on “Step Heaven

Leave a comment